Project: Monolith–A Kickstarter Puzzle Game Similiar to Myst or Portal

I haven’t played a ton of puzzle games in my life. Still, there is one that sticks out for me: Myst. Perhaps because it’s from my childhood, and one of my earliest. Back then, I liked it so much I even bought the books to go along (yes, there were books). When I came across Project: Monolith on Kickstarter I think that’s the first thing that caught my eye–the gleam of mystery and adventure that lurked in the environment of this colorless story.

Shades of Gray

Created by a team that includes Cyrus Conner, the Environment Lead, and Chris O’Donnel, the Design Lead, Project: Monolith starts the player off waking up not knowing where they are. The world is a huge unknown place built of only black, white, and shades of gray–but in a beautiful, though slightly eerie, way. It’s obvious the lack of color won’t hinder this game, or your character. Instead, it adds a sense of feeling that color would only shatter. Just as music can bring out emotions as a scene progresses, the shades and tones of Project: Monolith add to the enigma that is this strange world.

“We really want to put the character against the environment…” – Chris

Storyline and Game Play

As you explore your new world, you learn bits and pieces along the way. Things about yourself. Things about the place you now inhabit. Just like a puzzle should, the pieces …

READ THE REST OF THE ARTICLE: http://bit.ly/16rc5Ce

2 responses to “Project: Monolith–A Kickstarter Puzzle Game Similiar to Myst or Portal

    • Ugh, I know! Actually, I was tempted to take this post down. Trying to catch up to posting on wordpress some more now… and I was staring at this post undecided because the Kickstarter actually failed. The team is hoping to go back to the drawing board and maybe “one day start again”. Personally, I backed it and thought it would have been fun once they ironed out more detail and got the support they needed.

Leave a Reply

